Return to Headlines

North Lincoln High School DECA State Competition Results




Blue Ridge Region Vice President:  Will Thornhill


 Will Thornhill


First Place

            Kylie Dugan and McCauley Palmer - Advertising Campaign

            Kylie Dugan and McKenzie Jones - Creative Marketing Project (Wakami)

            Kalyssa Kolb and Harrison Shaw - Sports & Entertainment Promotion Plan


Second Place

            Scotty Holden, Brittany Johnson and Emma McLaughlin - Learn and Earn Project (Recycling)

            Katie Sherwood, Emily Walker and Tate Wood - Public Relations Project (Black & Blue BBQ)


Third Place      

            Austin Devine and McCauley Palmer - Business Services Operations Research

            Amanda Campo and Katie Clements - Finance Operations Research

            Max Cogan and Collin Kotek - Financial Services Team Decision


Fourth Place

            Alyssa Hager and Seth Waldron - Entrepreneurship Promotion Plan


Fifth Place

            Max Cogan, Collin Kotek and Will Thornhill - Financial Literacy Promotion Plan

            Amanda Campo and Katie Clements - Financial Services Team Decision


The students listed above will represent North Carolina DECA at the International Career Development Conference in Anaheim, California.

 NLHS State Deca Winners 2017


Sixth Place

            Adeline Brady, Gabi Burke and Grace Clarke - Community Service Project

            Landon Bisson and Westley Hunter - Hospitality & Tourism Operations Research

            Rachel Nuhfer and Jared Shore - Sports & Entertainment Operations Research


Seventh Place

            Luke Johnson, Mattie Jorgensen and Seth Waldron - Business Services Operations Research

            Jamie Bird and Anna Labar - Sports & Entertainment Promotion Plan


Eighth Place

            Connor Bain, Westley Hunter and McKenzie Jones - International Business Plan


Tenth Place

            Jamie Bird and Anna Labar - Merchandising Team Decision

            Ethan Hicks and Will Hutchens - Sports & Entertainment Operations Research


Event Testing Top Ten Medallions

            Harrison Shaw (SEPP), Will Hutchens (STDM), Ethan Hicks (STDM)


Case Study Top Ten Medallions 

            Nick Goodson (ADC), Nick McKinney (ADC)


Proficiency Winners 

Number of awards placed in ( ) 

            Max Cogan (2), Matty Jorgenssen (2), Collin Kotek (2), Connor Bain (2), Westley Hunter (2), Will Thornhill, Jonah Johnston, Cale Palmer, Jason Thomson, Lance Bailey, Landon Bailey (2), Luke Johnson (2), Adeline Brady, Gabi Burke, Grace Clarke, Katie Sherwood, Emily Walker (2), Tate Wood, Mary Field (2), Hannah Miller (2), Kalyssa Kolb, Carter Hudson, Bekka Myers, Chelsea Stegal, Jamie Bird (2), Anna Labar (2), Kylie Dugan (2), Alyssa Hager, McCauley Palmer (2), Addie McGinnis (2), Avery Sigmon (2), Rachel Nuhfer, Harrison Shaw, Jared Shore (2), Seth Waldron (2), Brittany Johnson (2), Emma McLaughlin (2), McKenzie Johnson (2), Amanda Campo (2), Katie Clements (2), Brooklyn Lambert, Austin Devine (2), Ethan Hicks (2), Scotty Holden (2), Nick Goodson (2), Nick McKinney (2), Will Hutchens (2), Marc Chroback, and Andrew Holden