• 1989-1990


    1989-1990 East Lincoln Mustangs Basketball Team


    Number
    Name
    Class
    Position
    Height
    10
    Randy Heffner
    Jr.
    Post
    6’5”
    11
    Chad McIntosh
    Sr.
    Guard
    6’0”
    12
    Colby Goodson
    Jr.
    Post
    6’2”
    14
    Brad Grice
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    20
    Chad Duggins
    Sr.
    Guard
    6’0”
    21
    Kirt Calloway
    Sr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    23
    Michael McLean
    Sr.
    Post
    5’11”
    25
    Jeff Alexander
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’9”
    25
    Jason Tuttle
    Jr.
    Guard
    6’0”
    30
    Jeff Saunders
    Jr.
    Post
    6’2”
    32
    Doran Johnson
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’11”

    coachashley90
    Head Coach: Chip Ashley

    Assistant Coach: Mike Goodson

     

    Conference Record
    Overall Record
    Finish
    4-6
    5-17
    Fourth Big Six AAA
    First Round Big Six 3A Tournament
    Lost to Hibriten Panthers
    3A Sectional Quaterfinalists
    Lost to Smoky Mountain Mustangs



    1989-1990 Big Six 3A Conference Standings
    (Through Conference Tournament Championship)

    Place

    Team

    Conference
    W-L

    Overall
    W-L

    1.

    Fred T. Foard Tigers 8-2 15-10

    2.

    Lincolnton Wolves 7-3 13-9

    3.

    West Caldwell Warriors 6-4 11-13

    4.

    East Lincoln Mustangs 4-6 5-17

    5.

    Hibriten Panthers 3-7 5-17

    6.

    St. Stephens Indians 2-8 2-23

    ** Linclnton Wolves won the Big Six 3A Conference Tournament. **


    Big Six 3A All-Confeernce
    Chad Duggins


    1989-1990 Award Winners
    MVP - Chad Duggins
    Most Improved - Chad McIntosh, Randy Heffner
    Best Defensive - Larry Gregory


    chad90 chadmc90

    larrygregory90

    randyheffner90


    Newspaper Articles


    19891990seniors2
    1989-1990 East Lincoln Mustangs Boys Basketball Season Preview


    19891990promopic
    1989-1990 Mustangs Ashley Courts Dual Roles



    1989-1990 East Lincoln Mustangs Team and Individual Stats




    1989-1990 East Lincoln Mustangs Schedule

    Day Date Opponent Site
    Result
    Conference
    Record
    Overall
    Record
    Tuesday November 28 South Iredell Vikings Denver
    Lost 59-33
    0 - 0
    0 - 1
    Friday December 1 Mooresville Blue Devils Denver
    Lost 62-56
    0 - 0
    0 - 2
    Tuesday December 5 West Lincoln Rebels Denver
    Won 61-54
    0 - 0
    1 - 2
    Thursday December 7 Bessemer City Yellowjackets Bessemer City
    Lost 63-47
    0 - 0
    1 - 3
    Wednesday December 13 Mooresville Blue Devils Mooresville
    Lost 76-61
    0 - 0
    1 - 4
    Friday December 15 West Lincoln Rebels Vale
    Lost 61-57
    0 - 0
    1 - 5
    Monday December 18 South Iredell Vikings Troutman
    Lost 90-60
    0 - 0
    1 - 6
    Thursday December 21 Bessemer City Yellowjackets Denver
    Lost 79-56
    0 - 0
    1 - 7
    Tuesday January 2 Kings Mountain Mountaineers Denver
    Lost 64-54
    0 - 0
    1 - 8
    Tuesday January 5 Kings Mountain Mountaineers Denver
    Lost 105-43
    0 - 0
    1 - 9
    Friday January 12 St. Stephens Indians Hickory
    Won 95-76
    1 - 0
    2 - 9
    Tuesday January 12 Hibriten Panthers Denver
    Lost 55-54
    1 - 1
    2 - 10
    Friday January 19 West Caldwell Warriors Denver
    Won 69-67
    2 - 1
    3 - 10
    Tuesday January 23 Fred T. Foard Tigers Newton
    Lost 67-65
    2 - 2
    3 - 11
    Friday January 26 Lincolnton Wolves Lincolnton
    Lost 75-72
    2 - 3
    3 - 12
    Tuesday February 6 St. Stephens Indians Denver
    Won 64-56
    3 - 3
    4 - 12
    Friday February 9 Hibriten Panthers Lenoir
    Lost 57-53
    3 - 4
    4 - 13
    Tuesday February 13 West Caldwell Warriors Lenoir
    Lost 75-53
    3 - 5
    4 - 14
    Friday February 16 Fred T. Foard Tigers Denver
    Lost 66-63
    3 - 6
    4 - 15
    Tuesday February 20 Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Won 75-68
    4 - 6
    5 - 15
    Monday February 26 Big Six Tourney Quarterfinals/Hibriten Panthers Denver
    Lost 58-57
    4 - 6
    5 - 16
    Tuesday March 6 3A Sectional Quarterfinals/Smoky Mountain Mustangs Sylva
    Lost 75-62
    4 - 6
    5 - 17