• 1995-1996

    1995-1996 East Lincoln Mustangs Basketball Team


    Number
    Name
    Class
    Position
    Height
    5
    Oley Alexander
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’9”
    10
    Todd Lawing
    Sr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    20
    Tim Friday
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    21
    Nick Hatley
    Sr.
    Post
    6’4”
    22
    Jon Sigmon
    Sr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    23
    Duran Moore
    Sr.
    Guard
    6’5”
    31
    Jason Setzer
    Sr.
    Post
    6’1”
    32
    Sterling McDowell
    Jr.
    Post
    6’2”
    33
    Pablo Abraham
    Jr.
    Post
    6’2”
    34
    Daryl Yates
    Sr.
    Post
    6’2”



    coachashley96
    Head Coach: Chip Ashley



    Assistant Coach: Mark Ewing

     

    Conference Record
    Overall Record
    Finish
    1-7
    6-19
    Fifth Western Piedmont AAA
    2nd Round Western Piedmont 3A Conference Tournament
    Lost to St. Stephens Indians



    1995-1996 Western Piedmont 3A Conference Standings


    Place

    Team

    Conference
    W-L

    Overall
    W-L

    1.

    Hickory Tornadoes 6-2 22-7

    1.

    St. Stephens Indians 6-2 16-9

    3.

    Fred T. Foard Tigers 5-3 20-7

    4.

    South Caldwell Spartans 2-6 9-16

    5.

    East Lincoln Mustangs 1-7 6-19


    Award Winners

    Most Valuable Player
    Todd Lawing

    Most Improved Player
    Nick Hatley

    Best Defensive 
    Oley Alexander

    Mustang Award
    Jason Setzer

    Western Piedmont 3A All-Conference Team
    Todd Lawing

     

    toddlawing22 oleyalexander2 nickhatley




    1995-1996 Team and Individual Stats

      

    1995-1996 Mustangs Basketball Schedule

    Day Date Opponent Site
    Result
    Conference
    Record
    Overall
    Record
    Tuesday December 1 Bandys Trojans Denver
    Won 40-35
    0 - 0
    1 - 0
    Tuesday December 5 West Lincoln Rebels Denver
    Won 61-36
    0 - 0
    2 - 0
    Friday December 8 Cherryville Ironmen Denver
    Lost 81-55
    0 - 0
    2 - 1
    Friday December 15 West Lincoln Rebels Vale
    Lost 58-49
    0 - 0
    2 - 2
    Monday December 18 East Gaston Warriors Denver
    Lost 72-69
    0 - 0
    2 - 3
    Wednesday December 27 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/Charlotte Country Day Buccaneers Denver
    Won 69-63
    0 - 0
    3 - 3
    Thursday December 28 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/Bessemer City Yellowjackets Denver
    Lost 64-46
    0 - 0
    3 - 4
    Monday December 30 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Lost 57-54
    0 - 0
    3 - 5
    Wednesday January 3 Bandys Trojans Denver
    Lost 58-54
    0 - 0
    3 - 6
    Friday January 5 Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Lost 60-45
    0 - 0
    3 - 7
    Monday January 15 Maiden Blue Devils Maiden
    Lost 57-54
    0 - 0
    3 - 8
    Tuesday January 16 Cherryville Ironmen Cherryville
    Lost 49-41
    0 - 0
    3 - 9
    Wednesday January 17 East Gaston Warriors Mount Holly
    Lost 66-63 OT
    0 - 0
    3 - 10
    Tuesday January 23 Fred T. Foard Tigers Newton
    Won 55-52
    1 - 0
    4 - 10
    Friday January 26 South Caldwell Spartans Denver
    Lost 39-37
    1 - 1
    4 - 11
    Tuesday January 30 St. Stephens Indians Denver
    Lost 76-60
    1 - 2
    4 - 12
    Wednesday February 7 Lincolnton Wolves Lincolnton
    Lost 72-58
    1 - 2
    4 - 13
    Friday February 9 Fred T. Foard Tigers Denver
    Lost 52-49
    1 - 3
    4 - 14
    Tuesday February 13 South Caldwell Spartans Hudson
    Lost 63-58
    1 - 4
    4 - 15
    Wednesday February 14 Hickory Tornadoes Hickory
    Lost 72-50
    1 - 5
    4 - 16
    Friday February 16 St. Stephens Indians Hickory
    Lost 62-60 OT
    1 - 6
    4 - 17
    Tuesday February 20 Hickory Tornadoes Denver
    Lost 80-45
    1 - 7
    4 - 18
    Friday February 23 Maiden Blue Devils Denver
    Won 70-68
    1 - 7
    5 - 18
    Monday February 26 Western Piedmont Tourney Quarterfinals/South Caldwell Spartans Hickory
    Won 78-75
    1 - 7
    6 - 18
    Wednesday February 28 Western Piedmont Tourney Semi-finals/St. Stephens Indians Hickory
    Lost 95-69
    1 - 7
    6 - 19