• 1997-1998

    1997-1998 East Lincoln Mustangs Basketball Team

    Number
    Name
    Class
    Position
    Height
    5
    Mike Rendleman
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’9”
    12
    Matt Carter
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    20
    Tezo Link
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’8”
    22
    Derek Lawing
    Sr.
    Guard
    5’9”
    23
    Ryan Coggins
    Sr.
    Guard
    5’7”
    24
    Morrell Forney
    Jr.
    Guard
    5’10”
    21
    Cliff Ellington
    Jr.
    Post
    6’2”
    31
    Lawrence Friday
    Sr.
    Post
    6’1”
    34
    Matt McCall
    Jr.
    Post
    6’3”
    32
    Ryan Waddle
    Sr.
    Post
    6’5”
    44
    John Hill
    Sr.
    Guard
    6’1”

    Head Coach: Brian DeLap

    Assistant Coach: Chip Cathey

    Assistant Coach: John Miles

     

    Conference Record
    Overall Record
    Finish
    5-9
    10-16
    Fifth Western Foothills AAA
    Lost Play-In Game to St. Stephens Indians

    johnhill lawrencefriday tezolink

    dereklawing  

    19971998seniors

    199781998coachdelap

    19971998team2

    199798cliffellington 199798ryanwaddle


    199798dreklawingb




    1997-1998 Newspaper Articles


    1997-1998 East Lincoln Mustangs Basketball Schedule

    Day Date Opponent Site
    Result
    Conference
    Record
    Overall
    Record
    Tuesday November 25 East Gaston Warriors Mount Holly
    Lost 57-55 OT
    0 - 0
    0 - 1
    Tuesday December 9 West Lincoln Rebels Denver
    Won 65-45
    0 - 0
    1 - 1
    Thursday December 11 East Gaston Warriors Denver
    Won 48-44
    0 - 0
    2 - 1
    Friday December 12 Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Lost 41-39
    0 - 0
    2 - 2
    Monday December 15 Bandys Trojans Denver
    Won 47-43
    0 - 0
    3 - 2
    Tuesday December 16 West Lincoln Rebels Vale
    Won 57-55
    0 - 0
    4 - 2
    Saturday December 27 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Lost 62-56
    0 - 0
    4 - 3
    Tuesday December 30 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/West Lincoln Rebels Denver
    Won 55-45
    0 - 0
    5 - 3
    Wednesday December 31 Lincoln Bank Holiday Classic/South Iredell Vikings Denver
    Lost 59-35
    0 - 0
    5 - 4
    Friday January 2 Lincolnton Wolves Denver
    Lost 51-49
    0 - 0
    5 - 5
    Tuesday January 6 Fred T. Foard Tigers Denver
    Lost 58-35
    0 - 1
    5 - 6
    Friday January 9 Hickory Tornadoes Hickory
    Lost 57-39
    0 - 2
    5 - 7
    Tuesday January 13 North Iredell Raiders Denver
    Won 43-42
    1 - 2
    6 - 7
    Friday January 16 South Iredell Vikings Denver
    Lost 51-46
    1 - 3
    6 - 8
    Tuesday January 20 St. Stephens Indians Hickory
    Lost 75-54
    1 - 4
    6 - 9
    Friday January 23 South Caldwell Spartans Denver
    Lost 53-49
    1 - 5
    6 - 10
    Tuesday January 27 Mooresville Blue Devils Mooresville
    Won 54-52
    2 - 5
    7 - 10
    Friday January 30 Fred T. Foard Tigers Newton
    Lost 56-36
    2 - 6
    7 - 11
    Tuesday February 3 Hickory Tornadoes Denver
    Lost 43-26
    2 - 7
    7 - 12
    Friday February 6 North Iredell Raiders Olin
    Won 50-36
    3 - 7
    8 - 12
    Tuesday February 10 South Iredell Vikings Troutman
    Lost 54-49
    3 - 8
    8 - 13
    Friday February 13 St. Stephens Indians Denver
    Won 67-61
    4 - 8
    9 - 13
    Tuesday February 17 South Caldwell Spartans Hudson
    Lost 55-51
    4 - 9
    9 - 14
    Friday February 20 Mooresville Blue Devils Denver
    Won 50-46
    5 - 9
    10 - 14
    Monday February 23 Conference Tournament/South Iredell Vikings Troutman
    Lost 76-73
    5 - 9
    10 - 15
    Friday February 27 Conference Play-In Game/St. Stephens Indians Hickory
    Lost 50-40
    5 - 9
    10 - 16